“Stay at Home” Order Issued for Maryland Employees – Maryland and surrounding employers must be prepared

3/30/2020 – Maryland Governor Larry Hogan issued a “Stay at Home” order this morning for all non-essential employees living in Maryland.  The order prohibits an individual for leaving their home unless to travel to work for an essential employer that remains open or to obtain personal care items (i.e., groceries, laundry, gas, etc.).

If you are a Maryland employer, and you have remained open:

FIRST you should first consider obtaining a legal opinion to provide to authorities in case you are required to prove your essential nature. 

SECOND if you are an essential business with employees that must continue to report to work in person, perform deliveries, run errands for your business, etc., you should provide all such employees with a “hall pass” (a legal letter explaining they are exempt from the Shelter-In-Place order).  Each employee with a “hall pass” should keep it on them at all times while traveling for work in order to provide to a government official or law enforcement officer upon questioning.  Individuals (or companies) who are caught disobeying the Governor’s order may be found guilty of a misdemeanor and subject to a fine up to $5,000.

While this second point certainly applies to all Maryland employers, it also applies to out-of-state employers who have employees that live in Maryland and must travel in Maryland in order to get to work.  Those out-of-state employers should identify the Maryland-based employees in their workforce and provide hall passes to travel through Maryland to get to work out-of-state as well.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Jennifer L. Curry, Shareholder
Baker, Donelson, Bearman, Caldwell & Berkowitz, PC
100 Light Street, 19th Floor, Baltimore, MD 21202
Phone 410.862.1183 / jcurry@bakerdonelson.com

Baker, Donelson, Bearman, Caldwell & Berkowitz, PC represents clients across the U.S. and abroad from offices in Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and Washington, D.C.